AHNE Bryniau Clwyd / Clwydian Range AONB


Where is the AONB? 

The Clwydian Range and Dee Valley AONB includes parts of the counties of Denbighshire, Flintshire and Wrexham in North East Wales. 

At its northermost tip, it virtually touches the coast at Prestatyn Hillside and extends as far south as the remote Berwyn Mountains.

Its western edge traces the Vale of Clwyd, a remarkable chain of peaks crowned with hillforts, the Morwynion Valley and the Vale of Llangollen. To the east, the foothills of the Dee Estuary and the Clwydian Range give way to Llandegla Moors, Ruabon Mountains, Esclusham Mountain, the World Heritage Site of Pontcysyllte Aqueduct and Canal and the National Trust’s Chirk Castle.

Or to put it simply, the AONB covers 389 square kilometres of some of the finest countryside in Britain.

AONB map


Made by Splinter